The Health Task Force was created by the N.D. Legislature in 2023. The purpose of the Health Task Force is to understand and create transparency around health care costs and the drivers of cost growth with the goal of lessening the impact of rising health care costs to citizens, businesses and government. 

Membership List:

  • Chair: Sen. Kyle Davison
  • Vice Chair: Rep. Greg Stemen
  • Sarah Aker, Executive Director, HHS Medical Services Division
  • Rep. Bert Anderson
  • Sen. Ryan Braunberger
  • Michael Delfs, CEO, Jamestown Regional Medical Center
  • Sen. Dick Dever - Chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee - Human Resources Division (may appoint a designee)
  • Todd Forkel, CEO, Altru Health System
  • Jon Godfread, North Dakota Insurance Commissioner
  • Ty Hegland, CEO, Universal Health Services Inc.
  • Stacie Heiden, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota
  • Alyson Kornele, CEO, West River Health Services
  • Tiffany Lawrence, President & CEO, Sanford Health
  • Sen. Judy Lee - Chairman of the Senate Human Services Committee (may appoint a designee)
  • Rep. Mike Lefor, House Majority Leader
  • Rep. Alisa Mitskog - Appointed by the House Minority Leader
  • Rep. Jon Nelson - Chairman of the House Appropriations Committee - Human Resources Division (may appoint a designee)
  • Maria Neset, Senior Policy Advisory, Governor's Office
  • Rep. Emily O'Brien
  • Dr. Josh Ranum, President, ND Medical Association
  • Reed Reyman, President & CEO, Common Spirit (CHI)
  • Kurt Snyder, Executive Director, Heartview Foundation
  • Sara Stolt, HHS Interim Commissioner
  • Dr. Richard Vetter, Chief Medical Officer, Essentia Health
  • Dr. Nizar Wehbi, (HHS) State Health Officer
  • Rep. Robin Weisz - Chairman of the House Human Services Committee
  • Dylan Wheeler, Sanford Health
  • Indian Affairs Commissioner Appointee
  • Jeff Zarling - GNDC Appointee
Accordion Section Title
2024 Meetings
Accordion Section Title
2023 Meetings

October 19, 2023

September 26, 2023 (canceled)

2023 Meeting Minutes and Materials
2023 Meeting Minutes and Materials



Health Care Task Force
North Dakota Health and Human Services
600 E. Boulevard Ave., Dept. 325
Bismarck, ND 58505
Phone: 701-328-2538
Toll Free: 800-472-2622
711 (TTY)