To find additional information regarding the Basic Care Program, see our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ's) below. The Publications page contains a variety of information including brochures, policy manuals, news and reports.
To find state and federal programs that you may potentially be eligible for, visit Benefits.Gov and complete the online survey. This is only a screening tool and not all North Dakota programs are included.
The only way to know if you are eligible for financial assistance programs in North Dakota is to complete the application process.
Basic Care Assistance Programs FAQs
Generally speaking, anyone may apply for assistance. Eligible applicants will ordinarily reside in North Dakota. For additional information, please refer to the Basic Care Brochure (1.081Mb pdf).
To apply, contact your local human service zone office (formerly know as county social service office). For local contact information, click on the county closest to your home on the locator map. You may also view the Application for Assistance. Completing the application prior to visiting the County Social Service Office may help to shorten the eligibility determination process.
The Department of Human Services must follow federal and state laws on privacy. Only those whose job requires them to view your personal information in order to administer the programs, or process payments, have access to your information. Department of Human Services staff and Human Service Zone agency staff are bound by strict confidentiality rules that do not allow unauthorized disclosure of your personal information.
The Department of Human Services provides a wide range of programs and services. You can return to the Financial Help page to review other programs that may be available to assist with your financial needs.
Basic Care Assistance Program (BCAP) recipients are allowed to keep $100 for personal needs and, in some cases, additional amounts to cover health insurance and medical costs. Generally, all other income the individual receives goes toward the cost of care. BCAP pays the difference for those who cannot pay the full cost of their care.
BCAP helps aged, blind or disabled people, who need services in a licensed, basic care facility, to pay for their care.
There are three main requirements for BCAP eligibility. First, you must be at least age 18 and aged (65 or over), blind or disabled. Second, you must apply and qualify for Medical Assistance (Medicaid). Third, you must have a functional assessment. That means a social worker will make a visit and determine what level of care is appropriate based on a person's ability to handle activities of daily living.
A functional assessment is an evaluation by a social worker of a person's ability to live independently. A Home and Community Based Service (HCBS) case manager does the assessment. Basic Care is appropriate for those who are not severely impaired in activities of daily living, transferring to or from a bed or chair, or eating. But those who have health, welfare, or safety needs or who are impaired in three of the four following instrumental activities of daily living:
- preparing meals,
- doing housework,
- taking medications, or
- doing laundry
may need services of a licensed, basic care facility.
State law allows a BCAP recipient to keep $100 per month for personal needs. All other income must be paid toward their care or health care costs.
You must qualify for Medical Assistance (Medicaid). For those income and asset amounts check the eligibility requirements of that program.
After allowing a person to keep $100 per month for personal needs, any other income is paid to the basic care facility or for health insurance and medical costs. What care costs your income does not cover, the Basic Care Assistance Program pays directly to the basic care facility.
For information on applying for benefits, program eligibility, or an existing case, contact your local Human Service Zone office (formerly called county social services office), OR direct your questions to the department.
Economic Assistance Policy Division
Basic Care Assistance Program
600 E Boulevard, Dept. 325
Bismarck ND 58505-0250
Phone: (701) 328-2332
Toll Free: (800) 755-2716 (ND Only)
ND Relay TTY: (800) 366-6888 or 711