Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals


ND currently has Critical Access Hospitals, General Acute Hospitals, Long Term Acute Care Hospitals, Psychiatric Hospitals, Rehab Hospitals, Indian Health Services Hospitals and Transplant Hospitals.  In addition to certification, ND also licenses hospitals as Primary Care or General Acute.

Regulatory Code


SFN 8001, Application for License to Operate a Hospital

Transplant Hospital

Transplant Hospital Regulations



The Rural Health Information Hub (RHIhub) is the nation's rural health information source. The website offers an online library, coverage of rural issues, state guides, toolkits, program models, and more. RHIhub provides customized assistance by phone or email and is funded by the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy. For more information follow this link: