

Product Types

Types of usable marijuana under the North Dakota Medical Marijuana law are:

- 1. Dried Leaves and Flowers
- 2. Cannabinoid Concentrates or Extracts. Examples of concentrates include vapes, wax, shatter, budder, RSO, PDO, and FSO.
- 3. Medical Cannabinoid Products
 - a. Solutions
 - b. Capsules
 - c. Transdermal Patches
 - d. Topicals

Exceptions for Minor Patients (those under the age of 19):

- 1. Minors cannot have dried leaves and flowers
- 2. Minors cannot have any product with >6% THC

Purchase and Possession Limits

Patients and designated caregivers with a valid ID card can purchase the following in a 30-day period:

- 1. Up to 2.5 ounces dried leaves and flowers

 *Enhanced Amount: patients with the debilitating medical condition of cancer may be authorized by their health care provider to purchase up to 6 oz. of dried leaves and flowers.
- 2. Up to 6,000 mg THC total of other products

Patients can check their "**limit meter**" by logging into the registration system and clicking on the button that looks like a battery (see image below) on the top of the screen:



The limit meter looks like this:

33Y59HA8WB John ZZTest

Dried Leaves or Flowers: 100% Left 170.09714 Grams / 170.09714 Grams

Extracts: 100% Left 6000 mg / 6000 mg



There are three different possession limits for <u>dried leaves and flowers</u>: Standard, Enhanced or 0 (Zero). Cardholders can see what their possession limits are based on their ID card. The front of the card will indicate Standard, Enhanced, or 0 (Zero). The back of the card lists the possession limits for each category.

The front of the ID card will also state 'Other Products: Yes'. This is a reminder that all patients are allowed to purchase up to 6,000 mg of products other than dried leaves and flower.

The following tables can be used as a quick reference to determine who is allowed the different limits, what the purchase limit is, and what the possession limit is for each category.

Dried Leaves and Flowers Purchase and Possession Limits			
	Standard	Enhanced	0 (Zero)
Who	All patients 19 and older. Indicated on card as 'standard'.	Patients with the condition of cancer; authorized by healthcare provider. Indicated on card	All minor patients (those under the age of 19). Indicated on card as 'no'.
		as 'enhanced'.	
Purchase Limit Within 30 days	2.5 ounces	6 ounces	Zero ounces
Possession Limit	3 ounces	7.5 ounces	Zero ounces

Other Products Purchase and Possession Limits		
Adult Patients	Minor Patients	
19 years and older	Under 19 years	
Can purchase (within 30 days) up to 6,000	Designated caregivers can purchase on	
mg of THC	patient's behalf (within 30 days) up to	

Possession: no limit	6,000 mg of THC. Pediatric product cannot be greater than 6% THC.
	Possession: no limit

Smoking Provisions:

Consuming medical marijuana via smoking, vaping or otherwise inhaling falls under the same laws and regulations as tobacco smoking and vaping. North Dakota Tobacco Control Laws can be found here.

Limitations:

See NDCC Section 19-24.1-33 for information regarding limitations and what the law does not authorize a cardholder to do.

Law and Rules: For information on the medical marijuana laws and rules, click here.