

Designated Caregiver Application Instructions:

Welcome to the North Dakota Medical Marijuana Program.

Applications will be completed and submitted online via the BioTrackTHC system here General information data fields that must be completed include:

- Applicant name
- Date of birth (designated caregivers must be 21 years or older).
 - ✓ Please Note: applicant name and date of birth should match what is on their ND state issued driver's license or ND state issued non-driver identification card.
- Address
- Phone number
- Email address
 - ✓ Please Note: all information must be current to avoid any delay in the application process and receipt of the printed ID card.

In addition, applicants will be required to submit the following:

- An uploaded photo
 - o This is the photo that will go on the ID card if the application is approved.
 - Applicant must be facing the camera directly with their full face in view. Do not tilt the photo.
 - o Do not use a filter.
 - Eyes must be open.
 - The background of the photo should be plain (plain white or off-white background is best).
 - o Photo should be in color and not black and white or sepia.
 - Avoid wearing dark, tinted glasses, hats or head coverings when taking the photo.
 - The system will accept various image formats, including jpeg and png.
- An uploaded copy of the front of the applicant's North Dakota state issued driver's license or North Dakota state issued non-driver identification card
 - Please Note: copies of the driver's license or non-driver identification card can be submitted in various formats including jpeg, png, or pdf. If uploaded images are of poor quality, it could result in a delay in the application process.

Patient Information:

An applicant must enter the patient's 10-digit alphanumeric barcode number and click the "verify" button to match the appropriate patient to the designated caregiver. Once there is a correct match the patient's name, date of birth and email address will populate in the fields.

✓ Please Note: the patient barcode number is generated and assigned when a patient completes and submits their patient application.

Criminal History Record Check:

All designated caregivers must pass a criminal history record check with their initial application and every other year thereafter. Per NDCC Chapter 19-24.1, anybody who applies as a designated caregiver must not have been convicted of a drug misdemeanor within the five years preceding the date of application or of a felony offense (in a lifetime).

An individual who applies to become a designated caregiver and fails the criminal history record check is prohibited from serving as a designated caregiver. All fees associated with the criminal history record check must be paid by the applicant.

If an individual is applying as a designated caregiver for a patient with a **terminal illness** and the healthcare provider has specified this on the written certification, the background check timeline will be slightly different. In this situation, designated caregivers, upon successful completion of an application, will be issued an ID card and will have 60 days from the date issued to complete their background check.

Information regarding the criminal history record check, including how to start the process, can be found on the Division of Medical Marijuana website www.health.nd.gov/mm.

Application Fee:

There is no application fee for designated caregivers.

State Law and Administrative Rules:

 Applicants should be familiar with state law and administrative rules that govern the Medical Marijuana Program (NDCC Chapter 19-24.1 and NDAC Chapter 33-44-01), which can be found on the Division of Medical Marijuana website www.ndhealth.gov/MM/.

<u>Submitting Inaccurate, Incorrect, or False Information:</u>

- Inaccurate or incorrect information could result in a delay in processing of an application.
- An applicant who knowingly submits false records or documentation required by the Division of Medical Marijuana to receive a registry identification card will be permanently disqualified from participating in the Medical Marijuana Program.
- A material misstatement by an applicant may be result in the registry identification card being suspended or revoked.

Your BioTrack Account:

Applicants can log into their BioTrackTHC account at any time to:

- View and edit certain information on their account
- View and edit an application that was started but not submitted
 - ✓ Please Note: once an application is submitted, the applicant will not be able to edit their application. If a change needs to be made, please contact the Division of Medical Marijuana
- View their submitted application and track where it is at in the review and approval process.
- Check the patient(s) 30-day maximum purchase limit balance.

For more information or if you need an accommodation, please email medmarijuana@nd.gov or call 701.328.1311.

Following the submission of all necessary application documentation, and completion of the entire patient application that the designated caregiver will be assisting, please allow 2-4 weeks for processing. You can track your application status by signing into your account. Delays in processing may result from incomplete information, payment not being received, or unclear photos or other uploaded documents.

