# VISION ZER

Zero fatalities. Zero excuses.

## **NORTH DAKOTA TRAFFIC LAWS**

### **Drive distraction free.**

Distraction is a common contributing factor in most crashes and near crashes.

All distracted driving is prohibited in North Dakota. A driver of a motor vehicle in traffic (including stopped at a stoplight or sign) may not use a wireless communications device to compose, read or send an electronic message, send data or access the Internet. This law carries a \$100 citation. The law further prohibits any distraction that impairs the ability to safely operate the vehicle. If you are distracted while driving and commit a traffic violation, you can be given a \$100 citation for distracted driving. Drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using any electronic communications devices, including cell phones.

#### **Buckle up.**

Buckling up greatly reduces your chance of injury in a crash.

North Dakota law requires that all front seat occupants be properly buckled regardless of age.

All occupants younger than 18 must be properly restrained regardless of their location in a vehicle. Children under 8 years of age must be in an approved safety restraint; children who are at least 57 inches tall (4' 9") may use a seat belt.



#### **Drive sober.**

Driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs is one of the most dangerous actions you can take behind the wheel.

A person may not drive or be in physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol or while having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or more.

The minimum penalty for a first offense is a \$500 fine and if the BAC is .16 or greater the sentence must include two days imprisonment and a \$750 fine. For every prior offense the penalties become greater. The Department of Transportation may also suspend driving privileges from 91 days up to three years. Additional penalties may include 24/7 monitoring, chemical dependency evaluation, a \$100 operator license reinstatement fee, SR-22 filing (high risk insurance), and impoundment of the motor vehicle license plates or seizure of the motor vehicle. Penalty for a first offense DUI with a minor in the vehicle is imprisonment for up to 360 days and/or a \$3,000 fine.

Refusal to submit to a chemical test is a crime and will be treated like a DUI.



Slow down and move over when you see an emergency or maintenance vehicle stopped along the road.

On the interstate system or on a multilane highway outside of city limits, when an authorized emergency vehicle (or DOT maintenance vehicle) is parked or stopped and displaying a flashing, revolving, or rotating light, the driver of an approaching vehicle must slow down and move over to the other lane—as traffic and safety conditions allow. The fine for failing to do so is \$50.



#### Watch for construction.

Driving through construction zones is necessary and requires your attention.

New roads are built to improve traffic flow and others need to be maintained for a safe drive. During construction, road surfaces may be uneven and workers will be in close proximity to traffic. Obey the signs in construction work zones. Exceeding the speed limit in a construction zone (with signs and workers present) will result in a minimum fine of \$80.