
•  Children younger than 8 years of age are required to ride in a child restraint (car seat or booster seat).  
The restraint must be used correctly – following the manufacturer’s instructions.

•  A correctly-used seat belt may be substituted for children younger than 8 who are at least 4’9” tall.

•  Children ages 8 through 17 must be properly secured in a seat belt or child restraint (car seat or booster seat).

•  Children younger than 18 must be properly restrained regardless of their location in a vehicle.

•  The penalty for violating this law is $25 and one point against the license of the driver. The driver is  
responsible for ensuring that all occupants are buckled up in the appropriate restraint.

To help select the right child restraint for your child, refer to the best practice guidelines on back.
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Have your child’s car seat or booster seat checked by one of the many certified child passenger safety technicians available throughout the state.Have your child’s car seat or booster seat checked by one of the many certified child passenger safety technicians available throughout the state.
To find a child passenger safety technician, contact the North Dakota Department of Health, Child Passenger Safety Program at 800.472.2286,  To find a child passenger safety technician, contact the North Dakota Department of Health, Child Passenger Safety Program at 800.472.2286,  

visit the website www.ndhealth.gov/injury/ or visit https://www.safercar.gov and select car seats.visit the website www.ndhealth.gov/injury/ or visit https://www.safercar.gov and select car seats.

                                        a car seat based on your child’s  a car seat based on your child’s  
age, size, development and maturity.  age, size, development and maturity.  
Size information will be on labels attached to  Size information will be on labels attached to  
the car seat and in the instruction manual.the car seat and in the instruction manual.

                                          your child in the seat snugly,  your child in the seat snugly,  
following the car seat instructions.following the car seat instructions.

                                            the seat tightly in your vehicle  the seat tightly in your vehicle  
using the seat belt OR lower anchors and  using the seat belt OR lower anchors and  
tether (LATCH) system. Follow the car seat  tether (LATCH) system. Follow the car seat  
instructions and vehicle owner’s manual.instructions and vehicle owner’s manual.

                                                    your car seat with the  your car seat with the  
manufacturer, check for recalls and monitor  manufacturer, check for recalls and monitor  
the expiration date of the seat.the expiration date of the seat.

IMPORTANT TIPS:IMPORTANT TIPS:
SELECTSELECT

REGISTERREGISTER

SECURESECURE

INSTALLINSTALL

                 When children have outgrown the harness in their 
forward-facing car seat, they may be moved to a belt-positioning 
booster seat.  Keep children in boosters until they are about 4’9” 
tall or until the seat belt fits correctly over the body. Most boosters 
can be used up to 80-120 pounds. 

BoostersBoosters

               When children have outgrown their booster seat, 
they may use a seat belt when it fits over the body 
correctly. For a seat belt to fit properly, the lap belt must 
lie snugly across the upper thighs and be snug across the 
shoulder and chest. It should not lie on the stomach or 
across the neck.

Seat BeltSeat Belt

                              When children have outgrown the highest rear-facing 
size limits of their car seat, they may ride forward-facing in a car seat 
with a harness. Use the seat until the child reaches the highest size limits 
allowed by the manufacturer. Car seats with harnesses can be used up to 
40-100 pounds.  

Forward-FacingForward-Facing

                                                   Children should ride rear-facing as long as possible.  
          Two types of car seats are available for rear-facing:

Infant Seats – – Most of these seats can be used until 22-35 pounds. Use them until the 
highest size limits or until the child’s head is within one inch of the top of the seat.   

Convertible Seats  – These seats can be used rear-facing and forward-facing. Most 
can be used rear-facing up to 30-40 pounds. Use them rear-facing until the highest 
size limits allowed by the manufacturer.   

Rear-FacingRear-Facing

Follow These Best Practices When Buckling Up ChildrenFollow These Best Practices When Buckling Up Children
The North Dakota Department of Health offers the following best practices when transporting children in vehicles:

Children younger than 13 should ride in the back seat.Children younger than 13 should ride in the back seat.

Revised  2019


