WHAT IS FOSTER CARE FOR CHILDREN?

Foster care is a safety service available to families when children are placed in the custody of a public agency (Human Service Zone, Tribe, or Division of Juvenile Services). Foster care is considered when alternatives to out of home placement, including relative placement, have been explored and attempted to divert the child from entering foster care.

FOSTER CARE PROVIDERS OFFER A CHILD:

- Basic needs
- Safety and security
- · Guidance and comfort
- Family support
- Routine and structure
- Participation in the child's case plan goals and tasks, including transportation to needed medical or mental health appointments, school, activities, family visitation, etc

WHY DO I SEE REFERENCE TO FOSTER OR ADOPT?

When children enter foster care and their case plan results in a termination of parental rights, the child becomes legally free for adoption and would be in need of a forever family. Foster care providers may express if they are interested in being considered as an adoption option for the child.

NORTH DAKOTA



Distributed By:

This brochure was created by
North Dakota Health and Human Services,
Children and Family Services.

If you have questions about becoming a foster care provider, contact:

Call 1.833.378.4663, 711 (TTY)





WWW.HHS.ND.GOV/CFS/FOSTERCARE

DN 657 (04-2024)





WHAT ARE THE DIFFERENT LEVELS OF LICENSING?

North Dakota has varied levels of need and licensure for foster care. Foster care providers can decide if they would like to be licensed or certified.

1. License - Full

- Care to children in need of out of home placement, which may include long term placements or short-term respite and shelter care.
- Care to children in need of treatment by specialized trained providers thru Nexus PATH.

2. License - Relative

- Care to relative children only
- No placement maximums unless in treatment foster care

3. Certified

- Care to children in need of an out of home safety plan, short-term only; 30 days or less
- Emergency shelter care is offered during a family crisis; 14 days or less.
- Respite care is planned and offers temporary relief; 4 days or less.

DOES NORTH DAKOTA NEED MORE LICENSED OR CERTIFIED PROVIDERS? YES!

TO BE A FOSTER CARE PROVIDER, YOU MUST:

- 1. Be age 21.
- 2. Complete and meet the fingerprint based criminal background check requirements, including a child abuse and neglect index check.
- 3. Complete a home study assessment.
- 4. Be financially stable with reasonable resources to meet the needs of children placed in your home.
- Be able to demonstrate the ability to interpret and understand foster care law, rules and policies, child case plans, medication labels, etc.
- 6. Obtain a license or certification from North Dakota Heath and Human Services.

HOW LONG DOES A CHILD STAY IN FOSTER CARE?

Length of stay in foster care varies depending on the child's case plan goals. Care could range from a brief emergency of 4 days to several months.

DO FOSTER CARE PROVIDERS RECEIVE REIMBURSEMENT?

Providers do receive a monthly reimbursement to offset the costs involved with caring for a child in foster care. In addition, specialized payments (child care, activity fees, clothing, etc.) may also be approved depending on the needs of the child.

HOW MANY CHILDREN CAN BE CARED FOR IN A FOSTER HOME?

Fully licensed providers are assessed for the number of beds they have available. A fully licensed or relative foster home can serve up to six children at a time. A treatment foster home is licensed to care for two children, unless otherwise approved by the Department. A certified provider can serve up to 3 children at one time, not to exceed 30 days.