WHAT IS FOSTER CARE FOR CHILDREN?

Foster care is a supportive service available to families when children are placed in the custody of a public agency (Human Service Zone, Tribe, or Division of Juvenile Services). Foster care is considered when alternatives to out of home placement, including relative placement, have been explored and attempted to divert the child from entering foster care.

FOSTER CARE PROVIDERS OFFER A CHILD:

- Basic needs
- Safety and security
- Guidance and comfort
- Family support
- Routine and structure
- Participation in the child's case plan goals and tasks, including transportation to needed medical or mental health appointments, school, activities, family visitation, etc

WHY DO I SEE REFERENCE TO FOSTER OR ADOPT?

When children enter foster care and their case plan results in a termination of parental rights, the child becomes legally free for adoption and would be in need of a forever family. Foster care providers may choose to be considered an adoption option for the child.

NORTH DAKOTA



Distributed By:

This brochure was created by the North Dakota Health and Human Services, Children and Family Services Division.

If you have questions about becoming a foster provider, contact:

Call 1.833.378.4663, 711 (TTY)





WWW.HHS.ND.GOV/CFS/FOSTERCARE

DN 657 (08-2023)





WHAT ARE THE DIFFERENT TYPES OF FOSTER HOMES?

North Dakota has varied levels of need and licensure for foster care. Foster care providers can decide if they would like to be licensed for one or more of the following:

- 1. Shelter/Emergency Care: Short-term care and placement during a family emergency or upon removal from the home, not to exceed 7 days.
- 2. Respite Care: Temporary relief care to another foster care provider or agency involved family, not to exceed 4 days.
- **3. Regular Foster Care:** Ongoing care and placement to a child/children to meet the needs of the case plan.
- **4. Treatment Foster Care:** Ongoing care and placement to a child/children with needs which require specialized training and ongoing supports.

DOES NORTH DAKOTA NEED MORE LICENSED FOSTER HOMES? YES!

TO BE A FOSTER CARE PROVIDER, YOU MUST:

- 1. Be age 21.
- 2. Complete and meet the fingerprint based criminal background check requirements, including a child abuse and neglect index check.
- 3. Complete a home study assessment.
- 4. Be financially stable with reasonable resources to meet the needs of children placed in your home.
- 5. Be able to demonstrate the ability to interpret and understand foster care law, rules and policies, child case plans, medication labels, etc.
- 6. Obtain a license from North Dakota.

HOW LONG DOES A CHILD STAY IN FOSTER CARE?

Length of stay in foster care varies depending on the child's case plan goals. Care could range from a brief emergency of 4 days to several months.

DO FOSTER CARE PROVIDERS GET PAID OR RECEIVE REIMBURSEMENT?

Providers do receive a monthly reimbursement to offset the costs involved with caring for a child in foster care. In addition, specialized payments (child care, activity fees, clothing, etc.) may also be approved depending on the needs of the child.

HOW MANY CHILDREN CAN BE CARED FOR IN A FOSTER HOME?

Licensed providers are assessed for the number of beds they have available, which helps licensing determine how many children one home can support. Providers can give preference of age and gender. A regular foster home can serve up to six foster children at a time. A treatment foster home is licensed to care for two children, unless otherwise approved by the Department.