Announcing the Health Equity Training Series Recognition Program

Showcase your commitment to health equity with our new recognition program! Both individuals and entities (including units, offices and sections) can be honored for completing the Health Equity Training Initiative on the Community Engagement Unit’s website. Achieve recognition at three levels: Gold for completing all nine modules (80% minimum employee participation for entities), Silver for completing at least seven modules (80% minimum participation for entities), and Bronze for completing at least four modules (80% minimum participation for entities). Enhance your professional skills with free CEUs for nurses and CMUs for healthcare professionals available through UND. CEUs for social workers and professional development credits for K-12 educators may be available in the future! 

Complete the training and fill out the recognition form to join those already celebrated for their dedication to fostering an equitable and inclusive future.


Request a Training

All trainings from the Community Engagement unit are completely free of charge and available to everyone! The trainings are available in multiple delivery methods including:

  • In-person (preferred for groups)
  • Virtual (self-paced) on ND Train
  • Virtual (live)

If you are interested in having someone from our team present any of our existing trainings or develop a training on a topic of your choosing*, please fill out the request form by clicking the "Request Training" button below!


*Any trainings that need to be developed require a 60-day minimum notice to ensure enough time to produce and get approval for your custom training.


Health Equity Training Series

A Product of North Dakota Health and Human Services Community Engagement Unit


Overall Objectives of the 9-module series: 

  • Give participants the information and insights they need to identify inequities in the workplace
  • Provide the knowledge and skills required to develop new structures, practices and approaches to improve outcomes and the quality of life for all North Dakotans

Content Summary

This training will begin with fundamental health equity concepts, implicit bias and equitable communication strategies. It will provide foundational knowledge of factors driving health disparities, including social determinants of health (i.e., economic stability, education access and quality, health care quality and access, neighborhoods and built environments and those that impact social factors and community development) that can negatively affect health outcomes.

As the modules progress, learners will gain an understanding of health equity issues relevant to special populations, such as American Indians, Foreign-born, etc. The final module provides more general tips and strategies to apply the concepts to the workplace.

Target Audience

This training is appropriate for individuals working in a wide range of occupations, including but not limited to healthcare, allied health professionals and others who have an impact on people's health (e.g., those in fields related to economic stability, education access and quality, neighborhoods and built environments and those that impact social factors and community development). While this training is based on North Dakota needs, it is appropriate for individuals across the United States.

These trainings are available on ND Train. If you do not yet have an account, please follow these steps to create one. The course ID is 6690.

CEU, CME and Professional Development Opportunities

  • Free CEU's available for nurses through the UND Board of Nursing and for social workers through the ND Board of Social Work Examiners here.
  • Free CME's available through the UND School of Medicine and Health Studies here.

​***PD Credits for K12 educators possibly available in the future!


Health Equity Training Recognition - Entities


Health Equity Training Recognition - Individuals


Badge Recognition FAQs


Individuals and entities can qualify. Entities qualify by having 80% or more of their staff complete the minimum modules required for the desired recognition tier. Entities can be entire organizations or broken down into sections, offices, units or teams within organizations.

There are 3 tiers of recognition status you can qualify for:
a.    Bronze Status = 4 or more modules completed
b.    Silver Status = 7 or more modules completed
c.    Gold Status = All 9 modules completed

Complete this form to request recognition!

Yes! If you want to be recognized individually but belong to an entity currently being recognized, you can request recognition as an individual. You need to fill out a new recognition request form as an individual. 


Additional Trainings